Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Unsubscribing in Email marketing

Learn how to unsubscribe contacts from marketing emails.

ronnel

Written by: Ronnel DG

Last updated: 16 Oct., 2026

 

This feature requires at least one Client Engagement seat. View available plans and pricing here.

Every marketing email sent in B12's Email Marketing includes an unsubscribe link at the bottom. When a contact clicks this link and confirms, they will be automatically removed from future marketing messages.

Bottom of a marketing email with an arrow pointing to the Unsubscribe link

When a contact unsubscribes themselves, they are not deleted from your contact list. Instead, the Unsubscribed checkbox in their contact profile is automatically selected. 

You can also unsubscribe a contact yourself in the Contact Manager.

Unsubscribing a contact manually

1. In the left sidebar, go to contact-1 Contact Manager.

2. Find the contact you want to unsubscribe and click the pencil icon pen.inline to edit.

Contact Manager list with an arrow pointing to the pencil icon next to a contact

3. Under the email address, check the box labeled Unsubscribed from email marketing emails. This box is unchecked by default for every contact.

Contact profile with an arrow pointing to the unchecked Unsubscribed from email marketing emails box

Contact profile with the Unsubscribed from email marketing emails box checked

4. Click Save when finished.

Unsubscribed contacts will no longer receive marketing communications, but they may still receive important transactional emails, such as invoices or account notifications.